Bank-account UPI: rollout update and announced rates
UPI MDR deferred until after Diwali, new date to be notified: NPCI
Business Standard (reporting NPCI's 13 October statement)
Reports NPCI's postponement of the 15 October rollout until after Diwali, with the exact date to be notified separately. Corroborated by Moneycontrol and The Indian Express. NPCI's original notice could not be retrieved directly; no January 2027 date is treated as confirmed.
Published/effective: 13 Oct 2026 / Not specified
Last verified: 13 Oct 2026
Official sourceUPI Continues to Remain Free for Peer to Peer Transactions and 96% of Merchant Transactions
Press Information Bureau, Ministry of Finance, Government of India
Confirms individuals pay no UPI transaction fee, P2P and most small-merchant transactions remain free, standard P2M MDR above ₹2,000 is 0.40% capped at ₹300, selected sectors use a flat ₹5 fee, capital markets use 0.02% capped at ₹300, and banks must ensure merchants do not pass MDR to individuals.
Published/effective: 15 Sept 2026 / Not specified
Last verified: 12 Oct 2026
Official sourceFAQs: Merchant Discount Rate (MDR) on Select UPI (P2M) Transactions
National Payments Corporation of India
Explains the select P2M framework, thresholds, caps, no individual charge, P2PM small merchant treatment, AutoPay exclusion, flat-fee categories, and capital-market MDR.
Published/effective: 15 Sept 2026 / Not specified
Last verified: 12 Oct 2026
Official sourceUnified Payments Interface Circulars
National Payments Corporation of India
Circular register checked on 12 October. Subsequent reporting of NPCI's 13 October statement defers the original 15 October rollout; see the deferral source.
Published/effective: Not specified / Not specified
Last verified: 12 Oct 2026
Official sourceRuPay credit-card UPI: acceptance and merchant pricing
RuPay Credit Card on UPI
RuPay / National Payments Corporation of India
Describes RuPay credit cards as a supported UPI-linked payment account for merchant payments and notes that P2P, P2PM, cash withdrawal, and card-to-card payments are not permitted.
Published/effective: Not specified / Not specified
Last verified: 12 Oct 2026
Official sourceMDR for acceptance of RuPay Credit Card on UPI Payments
Canara Bank
Shows one acquiring bank's category-based merchant rates for RuPay credit-card UPI payments above ₹2,000, states that 18% GST is additional, and makes clear that the merchant's assigned MCC determines the final rate.
Published/effective: Not specified / 01 Jun 2026
Last verified: 12 Oct 2026
Official sourceAccept payments with RuPay cards, credit lines & wallets
Google Pay for Business Help
States that RuPay credit cards, credit lines, and wallets on UPI can attract merchant MDR plus GST, that MDR depends on business category, and that turnover can affect whether MDR applies above ₹2,000 or on all payments.
Published/effective: Not specified / Not specified
Last verified: 16 Sept 2026
Official sourceGST on payment-processing fees
Clarification on GST and UPI transactions
Press Information Bureau, Ministry of Finance, Government of India
States that GST is levied on charges such as MDR where applicable; when no MDR is charged, there is no GST on MDR.
Published/effective: 19 Apr 2025 / Not specified
Last verified: 16 Sept 2026
Official sourceGST rate notification for services under SAC 9971
Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs
Financial and related services are generally taxable at 18%; GST, where applicable to payment-processing fees, is on the fee/service value.
Published/effective: 28 Jun 2017 / 01 Jul 2017
Last verified: 16 Sept 2026
Official sourceMerchant classification and payment limits
UPI - Frequently Asked Questions
National Payments Corporation of India
States that acquiring banks allocate MCC during merchant onboarding, and lists public UPI transfer limits for normal UPI and some specific categories.
Published/effective: Not specified / Not specified
Last verified: 16 Sept 2026
Official sourceUPI Ecosystem Statistics - Merchant Category Classification
National Payments Corporation of India
Publishes UPI merchant category classification by MCC and notes that MCCs are allocated by acquiring banks and published by NPCI on an as-is basis.
Published/effective: Not specified / Not specified
Last verified: 16 Sept 2026
Official source